The “Award Winning” Gamma Zeta Chapter of Iota Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 26, 1956 in Newport News, Virginia.  Seven strong, courageous women known as Georgia Bingham, Lillie Jones, Gladys Ford, Estelle Chapman, Francis Johns, Martha Thomas and SophroniaWest felt a need to become a member of such a distinct organization.  The goal was to establish a local chapter of professional business women in the area to carry out the objectives of Lola M. Parker, Founder of Iota Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. All of our charter members have been committed to the Omega Chapter of Iota Phi Lambda Sorority, Incorporated.

In October 2008, the Gamma Zeta Chapter implemented our Future Iota Leaders (FIL) Club for young men and women in the Hampton/Newport News area to instill in youth the importance of business, professionalism and leadership. The chapter offered tutoring through the FIL Club for all courses required for a standard diploma in the state of Virginia grades K-12 each Tuesday evening at New Found Joy Ministries, 2700 Build America Drive, Hampton, VA. Each year the chapter awards the Georgia R. Bingham IMAP scholarship to a high school teenage mother pursuing a degree at an accredited college or university as apart of the sorority’s IOTA Mother’s Assistance Program. Currently, the chapter has an active Future Iota Leaders program chaired by Soror Shenelle Jones Cardwell consisting of children of Sorors and from the Hampton community. At our 2nd Business & Education Luncheon we gave the first scholarship in honor of Soror Catherine Winston, to a Bethel High School graduate and Future Iota Leader , the Catherine Canady Winston Future Iota Leaders Book Scholarship.

In April 2016, the chapter co-hosted the 79th Eastern Regional Conference at the Crowne Plaza Marina Hotel in Hampton, VA. April 2016 marked 60 years of sisterhood and service to the Newport News and Hampton communities. During the conference, the chapter hosted an “Emerald Affair” to celebrate our 60th Anniversary. Under the leadership of the Immediate Past Chapter President, Soror KaShauna Spratley, the chapter has won numerous awards and recognition for our programming and implementation of the sorority’s projects. One of our most memorable achievements was receiving the National Outstanding Chapter Award (2017-18), National Outstanding Chapter President (2017-2018), and the National Youth Literary Award (2017-18), at our 90thAnniversary Convention.


President- Montrose Cones, MAT & MSOD

1st Vice President- KaShauna G. Spratley, M.Ed.

2nd Vice President- Shenelle Jones-Cardwell, MSOL

Recording Secretary- Paula McGowan

Correspondence Secretary- Lakesha Eley

Financial Secretary- Catherine Winston

Treasurer- Sandra Pugh

Dean of Intake- Andreianna Bazemore, EMBA

Journalist- Michele Jones


Abolore Adekoya, Pamela Barber, Diane Bland-Bowser, Esq., Linda Canady, Pharm.D., June Owens, Gertrude Powell, Tracey Cones-Renshaw, Jeraline Shields, Ph.D., Karen Williams-Herod